Statistically Speaking…

A reflection

by Chris Hibbard

Statistically Speaking...

Statistically Speaking…

Thanks to an annual report from WordPress.com and a website called  Clustrmaps, I can now post some statistics about this Kitchen Sink blog.

From October of 2012 through December of 2012, this site was visited 18, 603 times.  Quite surprisingly,  10,000 of those views took place in 2012 alone.

Imagine this: 600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 17 years to get that many views.

As of 2012, this blog contains 604 posts. The most popular posts have turned out to be The Windigo Psychosis and The Many Faces Of The Wendigo, both of which are essays I researched and wrote while in university, for a Native American mythology course.

Most visitors to this blog stumbled across it while searching for something else, attracted to certain keywords like the name of a particular poet, subject, or theme. Others have found it through links off of Facebook, DeviantArt, university websites and even a local club here in town, The Slice Bar & Grill. As for how those sites are linked to mine, I have no idea.

5,200 of the visits over the last two years came from the United States, with the state of California visiting the most. 5,100 coming from Canada, with the province of Ontario visiting the most. Next on the list were the U.K., India, Australia and Singapore. Sadly, from the countries of Guyana, Slovenia, Anguilla, and Luxembourg, I’ve only had one visitor.

It might seem a bit conceited, but I’ve gotta say, those totals seen above seem pretty impressive, especially considering I only posted six new items in the last twelve months. Of course, comparing my own little blog to sites like Youtube and Google – two media giants – certainly puts me in my place. Those sites receive more than 115 million visitors every single day!

But I sure do appreciate any visitors I get however, and would like to say thanks to each and every one of you! I’ll keep posting items whenever something tickles my fancy, to use an antiquated expression. Writing just comes naturally to me, though sometimes my brain, my life, and my personality tend to get in the way.

The two authors below say it better than I ever could.

“Love is easy, and I love writing. You can’t resist love. You get an idea, someone says something, and you’re in love.” – Ray Bradbury

“Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.”
  – Graham Greene

Sincerely,

Chris Hibbard

The Kitchen Sink

~ by Chris Hibbard on December 30, 2012.

Leave a comment