The Devil, God & Me

A poem by Chris Hibbard
Inspired by Mary Jane
October 3, 2015

The Devil, God & Me

I’ve been all around the world and I’ve seen a lot of things
I’ve gotten wrong with paupers and I’ve bedded down with queens
I’ve seen so many things that I wish I’d never seen

I’ve drank my fill of sorrow man, and I’ve eaten ’til I’m green
I’ve started fights with ones I loved and even with machines
I’ve started many projects and I’ve run from many dreams

But those things I keep between us
The Devil, God and Me

I’ve wanted other peoples wives and gone where I shouldn’t been
I’ve done my share of swearing and said plenty that was mean
I’ve spent entire weekends with only whiskey and nicotine

I’ve woken up on Mondays man, still wearing Friday night’s old jeans
I’ve taken things that were not mine, then made out like Steve McQueen
I’ve hurt some folks and made bad jokes, most of them unclean

But those things I keep between us
The Devil, god, and Me

I’ve been breakin’ hearts of ladies ever since I was a teen
I’ve made mistakes, had belly aches, from drinking bad canteens
I’ve got stains’ll never wash away, not even with chlorine

Because I’ve been all around the world man and I’ve seen lots of things
I’ve gotten down with paupers and I’ve messed around with queens
I’ve seen so many things that I wish I’d never seen

But those things I keep between us
The Devil, God and Me

~ by Chris Hibbard on October 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
