A New Road

A Poem
by Chris Hibbard
June 23, 2015

A New Road

I will walk down a new road, one I should have walked long ago
I will struggle and I will falter but onward I will go

I will see my past mistakes falling farther and farther behind
I will recover from my troubles; yes I will push them from my mind

I will encounter many obstacles as I march down the road
I will feel with every step that I carry a heavy load

I will look over my shoulder to see how far I’ve come
I will have my days and nights of pain; days and nights on which I’ll run

I will spend more time looking forward and less time looking behind
I will spend more time appreciating the wonders that are mine

I will try not to be surprised when my new road leads astray
I will be frightened by the twists and turns but will walk on anyway

I will mourn the moments I’ve forgotten and celebrate moments new
I will know with every step I take that this is the only thing to do

I will not look back with hunger but will look forward with appetite
I will move ever closer to my goal; a life of peace and light

I will struggle and I will falter but onward I will go
I will walk down a new road, one I should have walked long ago

~ by Chris Hibbard on June 23, 2015.

One Response to “A New Road”

  1. Take my love with you
    keep it in your back pocket

Leave a Reply

 
