My Dear Fellows

A poem
By Bruce A. Coates
Re-published without permission
June 16, 2015

My Dear Fellows

Leave your chores, dear fellow
Come out and play with me
Forsake your daily duties
And happy you shall be!

We’ll go dancing in the meadows
And sing a song or three
If you leave your chores, dear fellow
And come spend the day with me

This world is full of sights
Which two of us were meant to see
So let us go see some of them
As friends we’re meant to be

We’ll go hiking in the mountains
And dream of voyages at sea
If you leave your chores, dear fellow
And come spend the day with me

No more worrying about the kitchen
Or who may come for tea
For I don’t mind your dirty dishes
And our own company we can be

We’ll go swimming in the ocean
And build sandcastles on our knees
If you leave your chores, dear fellow
And come spend the day with me

Please, my dear fellow, please!

~ by Chris Hibbard on June 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
