Burn The Whole Thing Down

A poem
by Chris Hibbard
June 14, 2015

Burn The Whole Thing Down

Tell me what to say
and I will say it to you
I will burn this wall
I will do it
I will do what you do
I will burn it to the ground
Burn the whole thing down

I feel the heartbreak
I feel the headache
All the constant tears
I see the blindness
The foolishness
All to keep you here
I can’t stop waiting
Stop crying
Stop thinking
About why you stay away so long

I would stop calling
Stop writing
Stop thinking
Stop denying
I’m as good as gone
But I don’t know

You just tell me what to say
And I will say it to you
I will do it for you
I will burn this wall
I will do it
I will do what you do
I will burn it to the ground
Burn the whole thing down

On weekdays
On Sundays
Even blackest nights
When you touch me
I know you don’t love me
I can’t make it right
I would stop praying
Stop walking
Stop trying
To start you talking
Say your own goodbyes
I would stop drinking
Stop feelings
Break down and stop thinking
You might change your mind

Just tell me what to say
and I will say it to you
I will burn this wall
I will do it
I will do what you do
I will burn it to the ground
Burn the whole thing down

~ by Chris Hibbard on June 14, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
