Heather In Winter

A poem
by Frédéric G. Martin
https://poemsandpoemes.wordpress.com/
Posted here May 27, 2015

Heather In Winter

I’m looking out of the window
And I wonder where you are,
Is your soul close to mine,
Not so far from here?

Mauve lilacs
Are not yet in bloom,
Are there such nice flowers
In the world you’re living in?

My heart too will cease to beat
Some time or another,
Only children may be orphans
And I am not a child anymore,

I’m looking out of the window,
I wonder if you hear my thoughts,
Is your soul far from me
Somewhere above the pensive stars?

I wish I could tell you
How nice some mornings are,
How much we like to laugh,
And also we’ve seen heather in winter,

I can almost hear you laughing
A thousand miles away,
I don’t need to look out of the window,
Since my beating heart is yours,

And you put a slight smile on my face,
The fragrance of lilacs is floating in the air,
You say springs last forever where you are,
And you put a slight smile on my face.

~ by Chris Hibbard on May 27, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
