The Saver

A poem
by Kathleen Wastlund
Posted on May 24, 2015

The Saver

Today I thought I’d clean out the trunk,
And throw away some of that worn-out junk,

The little red overalls, worn at the knee,
The raggedy sweater, used by my three,

The faded old jacket that Kenny wore
The first time he went with his Dad to the store,

The myriad anklets, many unmatched,
And several wee shirts, patched and unpatched,

The dress that’s too small for Betty to wear,
The ribbon that never would stay in her hair,

Paul’s baby cap his old woolen bunting,
Small worn things for which I’d been hunting,

Oh, I sorted out lots of worn-out junk,
Then I tenderly packed it all back in the trunk.

~ by Chris Hibbard on May 24, 2015.

2 Responses to “The Saver”

  1. I love this. This is exactly my experience as I try cleaning out anything in my closet that I once packed away for safekeeping.

  2. I think it’s safe to say I’ve got a touch of the hoarder in me.

Leave a Reply

 
