Drink You Away

A poem
Originally posted at:
https://theaaronin.wordpress.com/

stock-footage-young-man-drinking-wine-in-his-kitchen-at-night

theaaronin

I tried to mend my broken heart

At the bottom of a bottle

Drank until I felt nothing

But the pain was still there

I tried to mend myself

In a fifth of whiskey

Finished the whole thing

But I still felt the hurt

I keep trying to drink you away

But I haven’t found a cure

Every bottle on the shelf

And nothing stops the heartbreak so pure.

I tried to make you disappear

With a shot of everclear

I tried to fade you to black

In a bottle of jack

I tried to drown you out

With a great Irish stout

I just cannot get you to sink

Despite how much I drink

I keep trying to drink you away

But I haven’t found a cure

Every bottle on the shelf

And nothing stops the heartbreak so pure.

Shelves-of-alcohol

View original post

~ by Chris Hibbard on March 25, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
