Both The Same

A poem by Chris Hibbard
For Mary Jane
February 24, 2015

Just The Same

I might go up and you might go down
I might lie still when you want to run around
I might head for shelter when you’re playing in the rain
But though we have our differences – inside we’re both the same.

I might want a beer and you might want a rye
I might be outgoing while you’re a little shy
I might prefer to drive and you might prefer the train
But though we have our differences – inside we’re both the same.

I might go north and you might go south
I might kiss your nose while you prefer to kiss my mouth
I might be the smoke, and you might be the flame
But though we have our differences – inside we’re both the same.

I might like it quiet and you might like the noise
I might like my books and you might like your toys
I might like the nights, while you prefer the days
But though we have our differences – our love is just the the same.

~ by Chris Hibbard on February 24, 2015.

One Response to “Both The Same”

  1. What a beautiful poem – it is true that opposites attract. Love it.

Leave a Reply

 
