Eternal Spring

A poem
by Chris Hibbard
January 2, 2015

Eternal Spring

Let me know when it is snowing
with the eternal Spring,
when rainbows are used to bridge horizons.

Tell me when the water of the world is enough
to quench my cosmic thirst,
for roads that all have a destination.

Give me a sign if love should ask anything about empty eyes,
in which the world wears innocence as earrings –
courage as tears in her eyes.

Call out for me when I’m allowed to swim in your pond,
when I may spread the sky on a loaf of sea –
slices of sweet stone heated in the womb of sun.

Scream out my name when humanity feels liberated from herself,
when our eyes are made to see and
our souls to choose.

Signal me if I may watch life grow
from the vales of limitation
to the peaks of the unseen.

Let me know people, if I may bite off a piece of light
Find freedom in the sound of bells –
liberty in the scents of cedar and vanilla.

~ by Chris Hibbard on January 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
