What’s Up With This Shampoo Bottle?

A thought
by Chris Hibbard
December 26, 2014

Shampoo
Why does my shampoo bottle need to have directions on it?

“Apply generously to scalp… rub lather gently into hair… rinse out.”

Really, what else am I going to do with it? It’s shampoo!

Was I planning on using it to clean my kitchen tabletop? Putting it on my toothbrush or pouring it in my coffee mug? Using it as a glue, a solvent, a washing machine product, a skin cream?

But I suppose that without said warning on the shampoo bottle, if I were to apply it ‘roughly’ to my head and hurt myself, or if I drank it or rubbed it directly onto my open eyeballs, then I could turn around and sue the shampoo company for damages, so they’re just covering their asses.

Just the fact that a company actively recognizes that there are people stupid enough to use shampoo improperly is hard to believe. Perhaps all shampoos should just come with a big, bold warning on the label:

“If you’re stupid enough to use this product incorrectly — then clean hair is the least of your problems.”

~ by Chris Hibbard on December 26, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
