Mr. Duality

A poem
by Chris Hibbard
December 22, 2014

Mr. Duality

My personality has a plurality
and that’s why they call me Mr. Duality

My two sides struggle to tear me apart
There’s a side of me I show
and I side I keep hidden
Sometime they alternate – flip-flop
Hey no kiddin’
I use my left brain then I use the right
I’m the day, then I’m the night

My personality has a plurality
That’s why they call me Mr. Duality

That’s me! And that’s me too!
Now a part of me is Jekyll, part is Hyde
My eggs get poached, and then they’re fried
I can be chaste. I can be sexual
I’m powerful yet ineffectual

My personality has a plurality
That’s why they call me Mr. Duality

Two cars in my garage, my brain is twice too large
Two chickens in my pot, that’s twice the chickens than you’ve got
I’m an FM guy, that’s loud and boisterous
But I can be mellow, I’ve got an AM side
A public radio brain full of culture and serenity
Until FM returns and sets my circuits free

My personality has a plurality
and that’s why they call me Mr. Duality

My two sides struggle to tear me apart
‘Cause there’s two of me – me and me too
I’m outgoing but I’m so repressed
I feel damned, but I feel blessed
I’m male and female – in heaven, in jail
I’m both dominant and submissive
I’m black and I’m white
I’m inside and outside, before and after
My mind and my body are both slave and master

My personality has a plurality
and that’s why they call me Mr. Duality

My two sides struggle to tear me apart
I’m funny, I’m serious
Obviously mysterious
A rude boaster and a subtle ghost
My personality has a plurality
and that’s why they call me Mr. Duality
My two sides struggle to tear me apart
But they’re so stuck together there’s no good place to start
That might seem to be a dichotomy
But it could be much worse – there could be a lotta me

I’d never want to have multiple personalities
Two is enough for Mr. Duality

~ by Chris Hibbard on December 22, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
