My Song

A poem
by Chris Hibbard
dedicated to Mary Jane
December 21, 2014

My Song

When the moon runs wild
and drowns the sky in velvet
Under heaven’s cloak I reach out
testing time

When my mouth is dry
exhaling seas of fire
burning in your eyes
the echoes of the night

Here we are
as the night gets long
Let the stars wash over us
I’d like to show you
that you are My Song
if it wasn’t so obvious

She may be a fading star
a desperate fallen angel
But when she speaks
her words are swallowed by his eyes

Though she cannot fly
she joins the dancing spectres
pictures stealing through her mind
and burning the light of day.

~ by Chris Hibbard on December 21, 2014.

2 Responses to “My Song”

  1. Love, please visit my blog and check out my latest post I would really appreciate that. Love and support always

  2. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
