Now I Know The Score

A poem by Chris Hibbard
August 2014

Now I Know The Score

Sometimes it’s the season
My wheels don’t touch the road
Life is like the movies
And love is like a load
Sometimes it seems worth it
Though people say I’m wrong
People think I’m crazy
But I don’t think I’m gone
Now I know the reason
Yeah, now I know the score

Sometimes it’s the approach
And sometimes it’s the goal
Sometimes it’s the sunshine
Sometimes it’s the snow
Now I know the motive
Yes sir, now I know the role

Someone’s coming closer
Writing’s on the wall
I look like a stranger
And she looks like a swan
Something in her manner
Hot as hell, but cool
Draws me like a magnet
And thrills me like a fool
Now I know the reason
Yes, and now I know the score

Sometimes it’s a prison cell
And sometimes it’s a door
Somewhat like a shadow
Seems like you belong
Sometimes it’s a feeling
And sometimes it’s a show
Now I know the motive
Yeah, now I know the role

You don’t think you’re easy
But I think you’re a song
Somewhere in the darkness
Your music turns to light
Dancing with your feelings
I’m on the other side
Sometimes it’s a breaker
Sometimes an undertow
Sometimes it’s the logic
Sometimes it’s the flow
Now I know the reason
Oh yeah, now I know the score

~ by Chris Hibbard on August 20, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
