Failure Is Not An Option

A poem
by C.E. Hibbard

Failure Is Not An Option

Somebody told me it couldn’t be done
and with a chuckle I replied,
‘So maybe it couldn’t, but I would be one
Who wouldn’t agree ’til I’d tried.’
Then I buckled right in with a grin on my face
And if I was worried, I hid it.
I started to sing as I tackled this thing
That couldn’t be done, and I did it.
Somebody scoffed: “Oh, you’ll never do that;
or somebody else would have done it”
So I took off my coat and I took off my hat
And the first thing you know, I’d begun it.
With the lift of my chin and that silly little grin,
and without any doubting or limit,
I started to sing as I tackled this thing
that had never been done, and I did it.
There are thousands that tell me it cannot be done,
There are hundreds that expect me to fail;
There are dozens who point out, one by one,
All the obstacles meant to derail;
But I buckle right in, with a determined grin,
I just shrug off that coat and go to it;
Once I’ve started to sing as I tackle each thing
If it cannot be done, I will do it.

~ by Chris Hibbard on June 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
