Caterwaul

A poem
by Chris Hibbard
(Originally written for The Ranters; Blue Horse Press)

Caterwaul

I’ve been mewin’ at your window
I’ve been clawin’ at your walls
I’ve been feeling kind of lonely
And you don’t stir at all

You’ve been wonderin’ what keeps me
Chirpin’ and growlin’ through the night
All I want is just some company
I think you’re being impolite

I know it’s four in the mornin’
But I want my belly scratched
You say come back when light is dawning
I say tonight you’ve met your match

So I’ll keep scratchin’ at that window
I’ll keep thumpin’ on the floor
If I can keep you from sleeping
You just might open up the door

Your tired eyes they won’t be closin’
As long as I can hear you breathe
You should be getting’ up – I’m hungry
You know that morning’s when I feed

And yes! Now it’s five in the mornin’
and that door is opened wide
it’s dark in there but I’ll adjust
my eyes are made to see inside

Soon I’ll be curling up beside you
If you won’t get out of bed
I’ll be mewing in your ears girl
My purrs just rattlin’ ‘round your head

All I want is just some kibble
I don’t even need a can
All I want is just some flavour
‘til you’ll supply, I will demand

I know that tomorrow you’ll be tired
But jeepers that’s all right with me
Tomorrow night while you’re sleeping
I’ll be up again you’ll see

For while you wake and work all morning
I’ll be nappin’ away the day
I know that soon you’ll be nocturnal
At least, if I have my way

~ by Chris Hibbard on October 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “Caterwaul”

  1. Very nice …I’m a sucker for kitty cat poems.

  2. This was a really terrific post!
    I come from milan, I was lucky to come cross your website in yahoo
    I get much in your website really thanks very much i will come again

Leave a Reply

 
