Words to live by

(Editor’s note: I came across the following inspiring words and motivational anecdotes while doing research for a health-related project. I found them to be quite profound, and worthy of sharing with anyone who is interested. Take one – and pass it on!)

Some Words to Live By

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Becoming
by Frank Outlaw

Watch your thoughts; they become words.
Watch your words; they become actions.
Watch your actions; they become habits.
Watch your habits; they become character.
Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

My biography
by Portia Nelson

Chapter 1: I walk down the street. There is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I fall in. I am lost.. I am helpless, it isn’t my fault. It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter 2: I walk down the same street. There is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I pretend I don’t see it. I fall in again. I can’t believe I am in the same place. But it isn’t my fault. It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter 3: I walk down the same street. There is a deep hole on the sidewalk. I see it there. I still fall in. it’s a habit. My eyes are open. I know where I am. It is my fault. I get out immediately.

Chaper 4: I walk down the same street. There is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I walk around it.

Chapter 5: I walk down another street.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The Positive Effect of Kindness
by Dr. Wayne Dyer

The positive effect of kindness on the immune system and on the increased production of serotonin in the brain has been proven in research studies. Serotonin is a naturally occurring substance in the body that makes us feel more comfortable, peaceful, and even blissful. In fact, the role of most anti-depressants is to stimulate the production of serotonin chemically, helping to ease depression. Research has shown that a simple act of kindness directed toward another improves the functioning of the immune system and stimulates the production of serotonin in both the recipient of the kindness and the person extending the kindness. Even more amazing is that persons observing the act of kindness have similar beneficial results. Just imagine this! Kindness extended, received, or observed beneficially impacts the physical health and feelings of everyone involved!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Only One Pound
by an Author Unknown

Hello, do you know me?
If you don’t, you should. I’m a pound of fat,
And I’m the happiest pound of fat that you would ever want to meet.
Want to know why?
It’s because no one ever wants to lose me; for I’m only one pound – just a single measly pound!
Everyone wants to lose three pounds, five pounds, or fifteen pounds, but never only one.
So I just stick around and happily keep you fat.
Then I add to myself, ever so slyly, so that you never seem to notice it.
That is, until I’ve grown to ten, twenty, thirty or even more pounds in weight.
It’s fun being only one pound of fat; for I am left to do as I please.
And then you weigh in, and keep right on saying, “Oh, I only lost one pound.”
I appreciate it, for you see, when you do this, you encourage others to keep me around because they’ll think I’m not worth losing – and I love being around you – your arms, your legs, your chin, your hips and every part of you.
Happy Days!!! After all, I’m only one pound of fat.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Climb The Mountain
by an Author Unknown

I tried to climb the mountain today. As I inched my way up the path, I felt out of breath and had to turn back.

I tried to climb the mountain today. But, It was so hot outside, I thought I had better stay in my nice air-conditioned house and rest up for tomorrow’s attempt.

I tried to climb the mountain today. On my journey, darkness started to fall and I was full of fear, so I had to return to a safe place.

I was ready to climb the mountain today. But I had so may other things to do, so instead of climbing the mountain I took care of the much more important tasks; I washed my car, mowed the grass and watched the big game. Today the mountain will have to wait.

I was going to climb the mountain today. But as I stared at the mountain in all it’s majestic beauty, I knew I had no chance of making it to the top, so I figured why even begin trying.

I had forgotten about climbing the mountain today, until an old friend came by and asked what I was up to lately. I told him about all my plans to climb that mountain someday. I went on and on about how I was going to accomplish the task.

He stopped me and said, “I just got back from climbing that mountain. For the longest time I told myself I was going to try to climb it but never made any progress. In fact I almost let the dream of making it to the top die. I came up with every excuse of why I could not make it up the mountain, but never once did I give myself a reason why I could. One day as I stared at the mountain and pondered, I realized that if I didn’t make an attempt at this dream all my dreams would eventually die.” “The next morning,” he continued, “I started my climb. It was not easy, and at times I wanted to quit. But no matter what I faced, I placed one foot in front of the other, keeping a steady pace. When the wind tried to blow me over the edge, I kept walking. When the voices inside my head screamed, stop! I focused on my goal, never letting it out of sight. I kept moving forward. I could not quit because I knew I had come too far to stop now. Time and time again, I reassured myself that I was going to finish this journey. I struggled mightily to make it to the top, but I climbed that mountain.”

“I have to be going,” my friend said. “Tomorrow is a new day to accomplish more dreams. So what are you going to do tomorrow?”

I looked at him, with intensity and confidence in my eyes, and said, “I have a mountain to climb.”

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Juggling
by Brian Dyson, former CEO of Coca Cola

Imagine life as a game in which you are juggling five balls in the air.

You name them – work, family, health, friends, and spirit – and you’re keeping all of these in the air.

You will soon understand that work is a rubber ball. If you drop it, it will bounce back.

But the other four balls – family, health, friends, and spirit are made of glass.

If you drop one of these, they will be irrevocably scuffed, marked, nicked, damaged, or even shattered.

They will never be the same. You must understand that and strive for balance in your life.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Love Who You Are
by Anonymous

Someone will always be prettier.
They will always be smarter.
Their house will be bigger.
They will drive a better car.
Their children will do better in school.
And their husband will fix more things around the house.
So let it go, and love you and your circumstances.
Think about it.
The prettiest woman in the world can have hell in her heart.
And the most highly favored
Woman on your job may be unable to have children.
And the richest woman you know,
she’s got the car, the house, the clothes….might be lonely.
And the word says if “I have not Love, I am nothing.”
So, again, love you.
Love who you are.
Look in the mirror in the morning and smile and say
“I am too blessed to be stressed.”

~ by Chris Hibbard on September 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
