Selfishly Selfish

A poem
by C.A.M.G.
(written on a bad morning)

Selfishly Selfish

To you I am dead,
without a clue I’m covered in red;
To me you are bleeding,
it seems this moment is all too fleeting;

Listen to your words and let it go,
sometimes life – just blows;
To be free is what we hope for,
secretly wishing for a little more;

Here I rest my head,
with visions of all that could be instead;
Life is shorter than I thought,
Fuck you and let it clot;

My words are meaningless, so I shut up,
maybe the silence will fill the cup;
Take me for what I am,
for I will be only a man;

Imperfect, with a smile,
I would run every mile;
Listen to my words and let it go,
sometimes life – just blows;

In my life I will be happy,
so please don’t try to trap me;
After all, I breathe in and out,
that should be worth a little clout.

~ by Chris Hibbard on September 23, 2010.

One Response to “Selfishly Selfish”

  1. No commitment at all…love is weird, people feel awkward when someone tries to get into their private path.

Leave a Reply

 
