A daily poem #211 – June 10, 2010

A poem
by Chris Hibbard
for L.G.P.

Wild Wings

Wild Wings

A wild-winged woman
has burrowed into my brain.
She crashed and she spun,
tearing through neurons
and hooking into nerves
I never even knew I had

This wild-winged woman
shook her feathers
and opened her beak
and the words in her call,
how they flew!
how they soared!

Her voice carried those words,
seeping along every street
drowning out nearby radios,
like a lullaby at night
and an alarm every morning
When she flaps her wings,
my heart skips a beat;
as she hops around my mind
she wiggles my fingers,
nudges my hips,
makes my hands wave,
my lips smile

This wild-winged woman
causes buildings to shake,
roads to curve,
oil tankers to spill
clouds to speed past.
The Earth spins, faster
the sun shines brighter
and thoughts, they explode
in strange new ways

This wild-winged woman
puts blackbirds to shame
puts eagles to rest
makes vultures seem lame
This wild-winged woman
she circles my world
and even with each new experience
she’s still my wild-winged girl

~ by Chris Hibbard on June 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
