A daily poem #121 – December 14, 2009

A poem
by Emily Dickinson

So Bashful When I Spied Her

So Bashful When I Spied Her

So bashful when I spied her,
So pretty, so ashamed!
So hidden in her leaflets,
Lest anybody find;

So breathless till I passed her,
So helpless when I turned
And bore her, struggling, blushing,
Her simple haunts beyond!

For whom I robbed the dingle,
For whom betrayed the dell,
Many will doubtless ask me,
But I shall never tell!

~ by Chris Hibbard on December 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
