2:25 AM

A late night poem
by Chris Hibbard

2:25 AM

It’s 2:25 AM.
Should I be asleep?
Or should I walk outside?
I can’t do that, I might be killed
Get hurt, meet strangers, or something worse
That’s what the TV and papers say
I read about it every day

It’s 2:27 AM.
Should I be asleep?
Or should I stay up all night?
It seems so quiet and well refined
In this little room of mine
Maybe I should turn off the light
Pretend that everything will be all right

It’s 2:31 AM.
Should I be asleep?
Or is there somewhere I can hide?
It’s all dark, I’ll pretend I’m not here
and just keep looking at the time
The way I see it, I surmise
The night is my reside

Now it’s 2:35 AM.
Shouldn’t I be asleep?
Or is there something more to find?
Something more divine
There isn’t much here really
Morning, noon or night
Wait a sec
Where am I?

It’s 2:40 AM.
Should I be asleep?
Am I awake enough to know?
Where I am and what’s the time?
The night is sweet
Can’t retire now..
Can’t go to sleep….
It’s not yet.. time……

~ by Chris Hibbard on November 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
