Beats

A poem
by Chris Hibbard

Beats

There is something beating here

Inside my chest
It’s called a heart
You know how easy it is
to tear it apart
If l lend it to you
will you keep it safe for me?

There is a sun shining in the sky
but that is not the reason why
I’m feeling warm
inside
The answer isn’t classified
From the moment I started
I tried to be good-hearted
Since I tried my best
and more or less

I spoke with my heart

There’s a lot to be learned
and you learn
when your heart gets burned
Hearts can never be owned
only temporary loan
If I want it back
I will take it back
But I will try my best
and more or less

I’ll speak from the heart
There is something beating here

~ by Chris Hibbard on November 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
