1000 Poems

A poem
by Chris Hibbard

1000 poems

I wrote 1000 poems
but I cheated by adding nothing

I wrote 100 poems
while my life was barely starting

I wrote 10 poems
with my eyes closed and a pencil up my nose

I wrote 1 poem
in a language which I no longer understand

I erased 1 chalk poem
Applauded with my erasers
will others choked on dust

I burned a book of poems
A crime a crime to be a pyro of rhyme

I killed a librarian
with a Xerox machine and a barcode scanner

I convinced everyone I had what they wanted
and then provided it – a compassionate idol.

I became the hero of the world I destroyed,
but I cheated by adding nothing.
Nothing but 1000 poems.

~ by Chris Hibbard on November 6, 2008.

2 Responses to “1000 Poems”

  1. Hello, I would like to invite you to join; The Poetic Voice Community. It is a writer’s site where you can enter contests – add poetry and get feedback. The latest entries are listed on the blog posts. Click on link, and check us out! Then join, and post.

    Website: http://poeticvoice.ning.com/

  2. you’re a great poet. i dig your stuff. it’d be awesome if you checked out my work, as well: http://realmofthecrow.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
