I Wish

A poem
By Chris Hibbard

I Wish

The words roll out like thick plush carpet
But only in my head
Everything comes out just perfect
But only from this pen
The most beautiful music I constantly make
But only my ears can hear
The painting is vivid, profound and real
But everyone is looking away
I wish, I wish that I could just say
These words I hold inside
Though longing to show the world how I feel
I stumble and try again
Nothing comes out right
It doesn’t come out wrong
It’s just an entirely different version
Of the same meaningful song
I wish that I could embed a camera
Deep inside my mind
Recording all of life’s important events
Ensuring I never forget
But that technology isn’t available yet
Maybe one day
Maybe some day
Maybe I was born too early
Even now I can’t explain
Though I surely wish I could

~ by Chris Hibbard on November 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
