Forsaken

A poem
By Chris Hibbard

Forsaken

You are captured by a dream that is long waited for
It has finally come true and I share in your joy
Yet within the calm the clouds appear
My ship, washed ashore
Shadows have formed
And I hope that the edge of darkness
Falls upon your path
So that I can rise and overcome
Though you will tread through forest of fear
I will guide you home
Never to leave you alone
I would never forsake my own

I will deliver you
Somehow
In the season of your brokenness
Though you will think that I don’t care
But I will feel each tear
Remembering what it cost to make you mine
I was made to turn the tide
So when your road has reached it’s end
And there seems no exit ahead
I will be your hiding place
Your shelter from the storm
I would never forsake my own

~ by Chris Hibbard on November 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
